St. Helens was first used as a whaling base in the early 19th century. Tin was discovered in the surrounding area in 1870s. St. Helens became the port for the mines. At this time a coach service was introduced to the town, previous access was by sea. The town was named after St. Helens, Isle of Wight. Today the town is a popular resort for fishing, swimming and other aquatic activities.
Georges Bay Post Office opened on April 1, 1869 and was renamed St. Helen's in 1882.
The first European to explore the area was Captain T Furneaux who sailed up the coast in 1773. He names the southern point of Georges Bay, St. Helens Point.
A typical Tasmanian Creek, this one is at St. Helens.
A couple of buildings in St. Helens, we spent one night in the caravan park here on our way home to Launceston.
A shop of which there are several spread out along the highway. There are 2 supermarkets, Hotel, RSL, a couple of bakery's, a few restaurants, nothing lavish and varies other shops.
Part of St. Georges Bay.
In the photo there is 'the bar' which is notorious to get through for boats. Over the years several people have died either going out or coming in at the wrong time.